Your guide to becoming a General Practitioner in Australia

Stage 2: Pathways for International Medical Graduates and Overseas Trained Doctors

There are specific registration pathways available for internationally trained medical practitioners which are coordinated by the Medical Board of Australia (MBA).

If your medical qualifications are from a medical school outside of Australia or New Zealand you must provide evidence of your eligibility to undertake one of the following pathway assessments:
• Standard Pathway
• Competent Authority Pathway 
• Specialist Pathway 

The assessment process assesses your knowledge and clinical skills to qualify for medical registration in Australia. If your medical qualifications are from a medical school in New Zealand and you have specialist recognition, we will go straight to RACGP to complete a comparability assessment, to determine your eligibility to practice as a GP in Australia.  

Standard Pathway

The Standard Pathway is for IMGs seeking general registration with the Board. You need to have a primary qualification in medicine and surgery awarded by a training institution recognised by the AMC to be eligible to apply to the AMC for assessment under this pathway.

The AMC assesses IMGs under the Standard Pathway as following:
Assessment is through the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and the AMC Clinical Examination or Workplace based assessment of clinical skills and knowledge by an AMC-accredited authority.

On successful completion of the assessment requirements of either of the alternatives described above, you will be issued with the AMC Certificate.

Competent Authority Pathway

The Competent Authority Pathway is intended for overseas-trained non-specialists, but it is also available to specialists, including general practitioners. It is a pathway to general registration and does not result directly in recognition or registration as a specialist in Australia.

IMGs who have completed the requirements of a Board-designated Competent Authority can apply to the board for assessment under this pathway.

Specialist Pathway

The Specialist Pathway is for applicants in one of the following categories:

• overseas-trained specialists applying for assessment of comparability to the standard of a specialist trained in that specialty in Australia (specialist recognition)
• overseas-trained specialists applying for an area of need position in Australia (area of need)
• overseas-trained specialists or specialists-in-training wishing to undertake a short period of specialist or advanced training in Australia (short-term training).

IMGs who have a primary qualification in medicine and surgery from a training institution awarded by a training institution recognised by the AMC, and who have satisfied all the training and examination requirements to practice in their field of specialty in their country of training can apply for assessment under this pathway (specialist recognition or area of need).

Click back to main page